TRS MPs have filed a Privilege Motion against Prime Minister Modi over his views on the creation of Telangana.

According to the letter, the statement tries to portray Parliament Houses in a derogatory light.
TRS MPs move Privilege Motion against PM

On Thursday, four members of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the Rajya Sabha filed a Privilege Motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi over his remarks in the Upper House on the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill on February 8.

Mr. Modi questioned the parliamentary process used to split Andhra Pradesh into the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh in 2014 during his Motion of Thanks to the President's address, claiming that doors were shut, pepper sprays were employed, and microphones were turned off to pass the law.

"The statement attempts to represent the Parliament Houses in the most terrible and contemptuous light, belittling and humiliating the procedures and proceedings of the House and its functioning," the members wrote in a letter to Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu. It's the same as criticizing Members of Parliament and Presiding Officers for their behavior in the House. Even the Presiding Officer's choice to close the House's doors.

They went on to say that the Prime Minister openly questioned the methods used by the House's presiding officers and management throughout the passage of the Bill (Lok Sabha, February 20, 2014; Rajya Sabha, February 21, 2014).

According to the members, both Houses operated under the leadership and direction of the Presiding Officer, who follows the rules and whose word is always final.

"Finding fault on either point is a breach of the House's privilege, raising the issue of contempt." "In this situation, the Prime Minister attempted to find an issue with the Presiding Officer's behavior and condemned them as disorderly," the letter stated.

K. Keshava Rao, J. Santosh Kumar, B Lingaiah Yadav, and K.R Suresh Reddy signed the letter.

The Prime Minister's views on the Andhra Reorganisation Bill were also condemned by the Leader of the Opposition, Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress).

Mr. Kharge remarked, "Don't split the nation; the Bill was passed by Parliament."