Winner of the 1983 World Cup calls the treatment of wrestlers who were protesting "heartbreaking and horrible

The 1983 Cricket World Cup winning team member Kris Srikkanth described seeing the images of wrestlers being mistreated as "heartbreaking and disgusting."
Winner of the 1983 World Cup calls the treatment of wrestlers who were protesting "heartbreaking and horrible

Submitted by Nitin Kumar Srivastava On Friday, members of the 1983 Cricket World Cup winning team spoke out in favour of the wrestlers participating in the protests taking place in the city. The way the protesting wrestlers were arrested was "heartbreaking and horrible," according to Krishnamachari Srikkanth, a member of the class of '83.

In a phone interview with India Today, Krishnamachari Srikkanth stated, "It is quite encouraging to see so many athletes supporting the wrestlers-the same athletes who won medals for the nation in numerous international competitions. It was painful and disgusting to see on television how they were treated, as well as how they were taken into jail.

Leading wrestlers are protesting the claims of sexual harassment made against WFI president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, including Sakshi Malik, Vinesh Phogat, and Bajrang Punia.

When the wrestlers marched towards the new Parliament building without permission on May 28, the Delhi Police apprehended them for breaking the law and maintaining the peace. Some people have criticised the police intervention against the wrestlers.

The protesting wrestlers threatened to submerge their medals in the sacred Ganga last month, but they chose not to do so. Instead, they moved their protest to Haridwar.

Medals in the Ganga will not bring you justice; provide evidence instead. Brij Bhushan to wrestlers in protest

The 1983 World Cup-winning cricket team expressed its grief and upheaval upon watching the footage of wrestlers being mistreated in a joint statement on Friday. The wrestlers who were protesting the idea to throw their medals into the Ganga River were also urged by the cricket champions not to "take any rash decision."

"These medals are not only their own, but also the pride and delight of the country. They required years of work, sacrifice, fortitude, and determination. We strongly advise against making a hasty decision in this case, and we also truly hope that their complaints will be acknowledged and immediately addressed. Let the rule of law take precedence "The sentence was read.

Kapil Dev, Roger Binny, Sunil Gavaskar, Mohinder Amarnath, K Srikkanth, Syed Kirmani, Yashpal Sharma, Madan Lal, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Sandeep Patil, and Kirti Azad are among the members of the 83 batch.