International travelers will be subject to the new Covid-19 guidelines, which include a seven-day home quarantine and an eight-day test.

On arrival, all travelers from "at-risk" countries must undergo mandatory RT-PCR tests. Before leaving or boarding a connecting aircraft, they must wait for the results at the airport.

The new restrictions, which came into effect on Tuesday in response to the Covid-19 outbreak in India, require all international travelers arriving in India to quarantine at home for seven days before undergoing an RT-PCR test on the eighth day.

While separating travelers from "at-risk" countries was previously required, the regulations have now been extended to all foreign passengers. If they test negative on the eighth day, they must continue to self-monitor their health for the next seven days. If they are confirmed to be positive, they will be "managed at an isolation facility" and their samples will be sent for genetic surveillance, according to protocol.

Last Monday, the Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare boosted the number of countries on its "at-risk" list from 12 to 19. Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia, and Zambia were among the eight countries added to the list. Previously, countries in Europe were designated as "at risk," including the United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Ghana, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Hong Kong, and Israel. On arrival, all travelers from these countries must undergo the required RT-PCR tests. Before leaving or boarding a connecting aircraft, they must wait for the results at the airport.

In some nations, around 2% of all passengers on a flight are subjected to random testing when they arrive at the airport, and everyone is forced to "self-monitor" their health for 14 days after they arrive. The RT-PCR test is now required for all of them on their eighth day of arrival, according to the new criteria.

"All travelers shall also be obliged to upload results of RT-PCR test for Covid-19 done on the eighth day on Air Suvidha portal," according to the government's news statement.

Furthermore, before boarding their planes, all passengers must provide a negative Covid report.

Children under the age of five are also exempt from pre-and post-arrival testing, according to the guidelines. "However, if they are discovered to be symptomatic for Covid-19 upon arrival or during their home quarantine period, they will be tested and treated according to the established protocol," the instructions indicate.